Audi A2 - Oil level sensor fault

Technical issues

Вопросы по установке. Монтаж, пайка, проводки...
Questions about the installation. Mounting, soldering, wiring ...
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  14 май 2018, 22:22

Hello All,
in this weekend I mount new cluster on our Audi A2, 1.4 petrol engine with colourMFA from here. All perfekt works, thanks fot it!

But i have problem with Oil Level Sensor. After ignition on a few seconds an error will appear on the display (screen in Attachments).
If I check the fault codes, cluster read: 00562 - Sensor for Oil Level/Temperature (G266) fault.
All setting from old cluster was moved correctly.

If I connect old cluster back, there are no errors anywhere.

Does anyone have a tip what can be wrong? CAN logs in Attachments.
Thank so much!

Marek
Вложения
VampireLo
Сообщения: 29
Регистрация:
17 янв 2018, 11:50

 

Сообщение  16 май 2018, 13:46

What is part No. of old and new instrument cluster?
Have you copied from oid cluster values of Cluster adoptation in channels 45, 60,61,62?
Do you have Oil Level/temperature sensor installed in engine bottom?
VampireLo
Сообщения: 29
Регистрация:
17 янв 2018, 11:50

 

Сообщение  16 май 2018, 14:20

I tryed to google information and found that there are no way to disable/enable oil level sensor in vcds or by eeprom correction.
Possible solutions: install oil level sensor or install emulator of this sensor like here https://www.drive2.ru/l/500671966630380116/
bsdnikolov
Сообщения: 5
Регистрация:
03 май 2018, 15:25

 

Сообщение  16 май 2018, 22:23

You can disable oli level/temperature sensor. Download DashDumpEdit and disable it by EEPROM.
https://www.drive2.ru/l/471768829593126099/
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  16 май 2018, 23:37

Oil level sensor failure possible if:
- installed cluster with oil sensor supported to car without sensor.
- wrong soldering while installed ColorMFA (wrong wire connected or short contacts while soldering).
VampireLo
Сообщения: 29
Регистрация:
17 янв 2018, 11:50

 

Сообщение  17 май 2018, 00:02

bsdnikolov писал(а):
16 май 2018, 22:23
You can disable oli level/temperature sensor. Download DashDumpEdit and disable it by EEPROM.
https://www.drive2.ru/l/471768829593126099/
DDE do Not support Audi clusters!
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  17 май 2018, 00:37

VampireLo писал(а):
16 май 2018, 13:46
What is part No. of old and new instrument cluster?
Have you copied from oid cluster values of Cluster adoptation in channels 45, 60,61,62?
Do you have Oil Level/temperature sensor installed in engine bottom?
Old cluster have part No.: 8Z0 920 900 A
New cluster have part No.: 8Z0 920 980 A

Yes, I copied all information on this channels. Channel 45 is set to a fixed service interval.

Yes, this car has an Oil Level/Temperature sensor. I mean all Audi A2 already have this sensor.
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  17 май 2018, 00:41

VampireLo писал(а):
17 май 2018, 00:02
bsdnikolov писал(а):
16 май 2018, 22:23
You can disable oli level/temperature sensor. Download DashDumpEdit and disable it by EEPROM.
https://www.drive2.ru/l/471768829593126099/
DDE do Not support Audi clusters!
Yes, this function is not available if I put Cluster dump to the application.

I know DashDumpEditor, it's very good helper.
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  17 май 2018, 00:50

autopilot писал(а):
16 май 2018, 23:37
Oil level sensor failure possible if:
- installed cluster with oil sensor supported to car without sensor.
- wrong soldering while installed ColorMFA (wrong wire connected or short contacts while soldering).
Thanks for answer.

- car have an Oil Level/Temperature sensor. I mean all Audi A2 already have this sensor.
- okay, I'll check the cable and soldering if it's all right
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  18 май 2018, 16:04

I have another shift in my problem.

Yesterday my friend gave me his device from his Audi A2 and I made some measurements.

My cluster
Your cluster in my car

It seems that my devices do not support the function Oil level/Oil Teperature :sorry:

Is it possible anywise to activate this service in my Cluster?
Thanks!
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  18 май 2018, 16:34

It seems that my devices do not support the function Oil level/Oil Teperature
If cluster not support oil level/temperature it also not generate failure for oil sensor.
But if oil sensor failure present, it may disable calculate oil level (group 4 on your photo).

I'm not see coding/adaptation values for disable/enable oil level/temperature sensor for A2 clusters.

Check connection (soldering) inside cluster. May be present some contact shorts or "dirty" installation.
Old cluster have part No.: 8Z0 920 900 A
Is a main European cluster.
New cluster have part No.: 8Z0 920 980 A
Is a UK or US cluster ?
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  18 май 2018, 19:44

Just one more minor fix

First cluster is my original (without MFA)
Part No.: 8Z0 920 900 A
Fault code: none

Second picture is my new cluster with MFA and with ColorMFA
Part No.: 8Z0 920 980 A
This is UK cluster, but recoding to EU
Fault code: 00562 - Sensor for Oil Level/Temperature (G266) fault.

Third picture is my Friend A2 cluster with OEM MFA
This is to UK cluster, but recoding to EU
Fault code: none


All pictures is after connect all clusters to my A2

If the sensor was faulty, it would not show anything to the friends cluster or?

Thanks everyone for help!
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  18 май 2018, 20:53

Compare coding and adaptations of your new cluster and cluster of you friend.
May be you found differences. Currently you set all coding/adaptation in new cluster as on you old (original) cluster ?

How you adopted new cluster to your car ?
- via VCDS (with login and match keys and engine ECU) ?
- via copy full EEPROM from your original cluster to new cluster ?
- via copy of IMMO part of EEPROM from old cluster to new cluster ?
trawerza
Сообщения: 7
Регистрация:
12 фев 2018, 00:20

 

Сообщение  19 май 2018, 13:40

I have checked all codings and everything is set the same way.
(Coding 07 and Adaptation 10)

I adopt new cluster via VCDS (with login and match keys and engine ECU)
VampireLo
Сообщения: 29
Регистрация:
17 янв 2018, 11:50

 

Сообщение  19 май 2018, 16:31

May you read eeprom of all clusters? Your old one, new one and of your friend cluster? I suggest to make some experiments with eeproms.
A2-D2
Сообщения: 10
Регистрация:
07 апр 2018, 11:04

 

Сообщение  19 май 2018, 17:35

In my humble opinion this problem is not a cause of coding or EEPROM. Every A2 comes with oil level sensor and there arnt any coding options. Oil level sensor is alway on. In every dash.

Must be a hardwareproblem due to:
autopilot писал(а):
18 май 2018, 16:34
Check connection (soldering) inside cluster. May be present some contact shorts or "dirty" installation.
Awaken
Сообщения: 13
Регистрация:
29 окт 2018, 22:59
Откуда: Bulgaria

 

Сообщение  30 окт 2018, 01:40

Were you able to determine for sure what the problem was? I have the same issue on my S3, I just bought a used cluster with colormfa already installed, really hope I don't have to open and resolder. No G266 error, but oil temp warning shows up and oil temp reads 0 on display and 155 in VCDS.
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  30 окт 2018, 05:31

If G266 is really present in car, check all coding in dashboard (17 in VCDS). Recode gateway (19 in VCDS).
And correctly adopt this dashboard to your car.

If all else fails, you’ll have to open the dashboard. Check all connection, soldering, e.t.c.
Awaken
Сообщения: 13
Регистрация:
29 окт 2018, 22:59
Откуда: Bulgaria

 

Сообщение  30 окт 2018, 08:56

I cannot access 19 Gateway, I don't think the 2002 8l has it, I believe it is all K-line in here. When you say 'adopt to your car', do you mean the adaptation in 17-Instruments on channel 50? The weirdest thing is that everything else works, if the dash was not correctly adopted wouldn't there be anything else wrong?
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  30 окт 2018, 13:59

When you say 'adopt to your car', do you mean the...
I mean what you need set right coding and right value for some adaptation channels. Copy values from your original dashboard.
No G266 error, but oil temp warning shows up
ColorMFA does not have "oil temp warning". Maybe some other warning ?
Ответить