REQUEST FOR NEW FEATURES / Предложения по новым функциям

Interface and features

Все вопросы о внешнем виде и функциях ColorMFA
All questions about the appearance and functions of ColorMFA
Schimmi70
Сообщения: 11
Регистрация:
10 окт 2018, 22:38

 

Сообщение  12 окт 2018, 16:04

In the posts of 21 May at this topic, this problem is described. with out a specific car.
At t5, if lights are switched off, 635 value go to 38 (h26). 38 brightness at daylight conditions is not very bright.

5EB goes to zero if lights are off, so it indicate lights are off and colormfa can switch the backlight to high brightness.

I think most off t5 users shut off the automatic brightness and set it to a fix high brightness.

It would be nice, to use automatic brightness right on T5.
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  12 окт 2018, 18:34

Can someone tell me why this kit needs an extra buzzer? Dash already has one and it'll beep on errors, why add an extra one?
Not all sound presented in ColorMFA also beeped with internal (cluster) buzzer.
In the posts of 21 May at this topic, this problem is described. with out a specific car.
At t5, if lights are switched off, 635 value go to 38 (h26). 38 brightness at daylight conditions is not very bright.
On many countries does not possible drive without lights. :) Lights must be always on (minimum lights set = parking lights On). But if set brightness to full while lights is off and you stay beside home at night (without lights) is not good choose to make brightness to full.
mmgherasim
Сообщения: 5
Регистрация:
11 окт 2018, 18:01

 

Сообщение  13 окт 2018, 14:05

Thanks for the answer. I was also thinking about a simple touch you can add to the screen and it has to do with the 'Messages'/'Warnings' function. For example, when there are warnings they should be displayed normally, as they are now, but when there are no warnings and the car is 'OK' it would be nice if the 'OK' message could be displayed a couple of secconds and then go away (with the red line above also) and have the middle screen cleaner to display speed or whatever info we select. It would look nicer, in my opinion. Thanks!
Аватара пользователя
sg1
Сообщения: 18
Регистрация:
19 фев 2018, 21:57
Откуда: Ljubljana, Slovenia

 

Сообщение  15 окт 2018, 10:32

I finally get my colormfa and install it in vw passat b5 (immo 2). It is realy great piece of engineering but there is always some place to improve. There are last 4 Trinputs unused, and it is a shame. And there are some unused pins in cluster instrument too...
In passat there is no indication of position nor of low beam lights, so simply adding two green icons when + is present on Trinput sound quite simple wish.
Two more could be used for analog signal for open bootlid and drivers door if someone did not connect confort can or have issues with it.
Signals are already in cluster instrumet (except of low beam, but that is not far away too).

And second idea - ther is a lot discussion about brightness of the screen. I think two possible manual preseted values (let sey A and B) will cover almost all needs. Then just implement simple toggling between them an display off.
Now we already have toggling between A and display off, then will be A, B, display off.
Schimmi70
Сообщения: 11
Регистрация:
10 окт 2018, 22:38

 

Сообщение  15 окт 2018, 11:46

On many countries does not possible drive without lights. :) Lights must be always on (minimum lights set = parking lights On).


OK, they will have no problem if display is on high brightness, if car lights are off. Because the car lights are always on and they don't see the high brightness.
But if set brightness to full while lights is off and you stay beside home at night (without lights) is not good choose to make brightness to full.
I think for now, in VW T5 in countrys where lights must not always on, the brightness will be used at manually mode at 80-100 %, cause nobody change every day between automatic and manual brightness for day and night light. So they have high brightness at home and at night rides.

You can simply use a switch, so driver can choose, that brightness is high (or he can define a brightnesslevel for MFA) when lights are switched off.

Buy the way, at my T5 there is a third value, that is set if car lights are on. The MotorCan ID 420 Byte 6.
If Lights are off it's 00. If lights are on it can be between 12 and 64 depending on the setting of the
brightness of instruments lighting and the light sensor of the instrument cluster.
So at low brightness of cluster and daylight it is on maximum. At night (no light on sensor) it can be the minimum brightness. The value corresponds to the brightness of the backlight of the instrument cluster. And I think this is the perfekt value for automatic brightness control at vw t5, possibly at other VAG Cars.

If this don't work at any cars, why don't you modify only the firmware version of the cars, where it works ?
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 13:15

Thanks for the answer. I was also thinking about a simple touch you can add to the screen and it has to do with the 'Messages'/'Warnings' function. For example, when there are warnings they should be displayed normally, as they are now, but when there are no warnings and the car is 'OK' it would be nice if the 'OK' message could be displayed a couple of secconds and then go away (with the red line above also) and have the middle screen cleaner to display speed or whatever info we select. It would look nicer, in my opinion. Thanks!
No, sorry.
Currently data on screen already shifts to up and down depending on displayed data (audio info, cruise control, e.t.c). Is not good to shifts it more and change font to small or big. It's looks not good.
There are last 4 Trinputs unused, and it is a shame.
Same main board used for many other cars. On different cars used different TrInputs. Whats problem ? Need use all of TrInput ? Even if it is not necessary ? :)
OK, they will have no problem if display is on high brightness, if car lights are off. Because the car lights are always on and they don't see the high brightness.
I'll think about full brightness while lights is off...
Schimmi70
Сообщения: 11
Регистрация:
10 окт 2018, 22:38

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 15:47

autopilot писал(а):
16 окт 2018, 13:15
OK, they will have no problem if display is on high brightness, if car lights are off. Because the car lights are always on and they don't see the high brightness.
I'll think about full brightness while lights is off...
Thank You !
mmgherasim
Сообщения: 5
Регистрация:
11 окт 2018, 18:01

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 18:54

autopilot писал(а):
16 окт 2018, 13:15
No, sorry.
Currently data on screen already shifts to up and down depending on displayed data (audio info, cruise control, e.t.c). Is not good to shifts it more and change font to small or big. It's looks not good.
No need to shift the data, just let the space organized as it is, but just make that ok message and red line invisible after a few seconds :)
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 20:25

mmgherasim писал(а):
16 окт 2018, 18:54
autopilot писал(а):
16 окт 2018, 13:15
No, sorry.
Currently data on screen already shifts to up and down depending on displayed data (audio info, cruise control, e.t.c). Is not good to shifts it more and change font to small or big. It's looks not good.
No need to shift the data, just let the space organized as it is, but just make that ok message and red line invisible after a few seconds :)
If not shift data (proportionally fill the screen) it looks not good. Very big empty area at bottom of screen (remove OK and line).
If you not need see OK, you may enable ZAGR mode. :) menu -> System -> Firmware -> press and hold "Down" button while on top right corner not displayed "ZAGR".
In this mode OK displayed only 5 second after start. But lines not removed. Empty area under the line is present (OK not displayed). :)
Аватара пользователя
geos3
Сообщения: 11
Регистрация:
17 янв 2018, 20:14
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 21:42

Here is something which is working, just not good enough. Boost gauge is so slow that it is almost a gimmick-joke. Why can't it be faster, like block from obd data is. For example, engine torque is nice to watch, boost not so much :(
mmgherasim
Сообщения: 5
Регистрация:
11 окт 2018, 18:01

 

Сообщение  16 окт 2018, 22:21


If not shift data (proportionally fill the screen) it looks not good. Very big empty area at bottom of screen (remove OK and line).
If you not need see OK, you may enable ZAGR mode. :) menu -> System -> Firmware -> press and hold "Down" button while on top right corner not displayed "ZAGR".
In this mode OK displayed only 5 second after start. But lines not removed. Empty area under the line is present (OK not displayed). :)
The line is the one I want gone the most, so I will just leave it as it is if it cannot be done otherwise.
Аватара пользователя
sg1
Сообщения: 18
Регистрация:
19 фев 2018, 21:57
Откуда: Ljubljana, Slovenia

 

Сообщение  17 окт 2018, 11:55

Please think about 2 preset manual brightness values and toggling around them and display off ...

On immo 2 clusters automatic brightness control do not work (i understand it is by design and it is expected beacause no CAN data about brightness) and when becomes dark display becames far too bright.

Brightness change is so deep in menus that it is dangerous to dim a display while driving !
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  17 окт 2018, 19:21

Please think about 2 preset manual brightness values and toggling around them and display off ...
In next firmware added "hotkey" on main screen to change brightness (only if manual brightness selected in menu). Currently long press "Down" key is shutoff the display. On next firmware long press "Up" key show brightness bar on top of screen for quick change.
volkswagenmotorsport
Сообщения: 2
Регистрация:
17 окт 2018, 20:53

 

Сообщение  17 окт 2018, 21:22

hello. i am using the colormfa and i thought about some features for a more comfortable use.

first it will be great to have a clock shown in the upper line between trip time and trip length, or the opportunity to chance these parameters in the menu setup to show a clock instead of trip time/ trip length. this give the opportunity to clean the speedometer disc completely and use the colormfa in total for all drivers information only shown on a single display.

at next it really needs a easier way to show the total kilometers because technical services, like TÜV in germany, and car repair shops have to find it quick and easy to report it. a handsome place will be the swip-through main menu or service interval menu.

finally there is a translation mistake in the oil level display. the current oil level in the german version shows the short form "cur" for "current". maybe it will be useful to call it "Stand" for "level".
Аватара пользователя
sg1
Сообщения: 18
Регистрация:
19 фев 2018, 21:57
Откуда: Ljubljana, Slovenia

 

Сообщение  18 окт 2018, 00:23

autopilot писал(а):
17 окт 2018, 19:21
Please think about 2 preset manual brightness values and toggling around them and display off ...
In next firmware added "hotkey" on main screen to change brightness (only if manual brightness selected in menu). Currently long press "Down" key is shutoff the display. On next firmware long press "Up" key show brightness bar on top of screen for quick change.
Excellent ! Even better than my wish. Thank you in advance !
Schimmi70
Сообщения: 11
Регистрация:
10 окт 2018, 22:38

 

Сообщение  18 окт 2018, 00:52

autopilot писал(а):
16 окт 2018, 13:15
I'll think about full brightness while lights is off...
What do think also about use of Motor-Can ID 420 byte 6 ... on t5 it is definitely the brightness of instrument cluster between 0 an 100% (hex 64) to automatic control the brightness of colormfa if lights are on ?
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  18 окт 2018, 16:20

volkswagenmotorsport писал(а):
17 окт 2018, 21:22
hello. i am using the colormfa and i thought about some features for a more comfortable use.

first it will be great to have a clock shown in the upper line between trip time and trip length, or the opportunity to chance these parameters in the menu setup to show a clock instead of trip time/ trip length. this give the opportunity to clean the speedometer disc completely and use the colormfa in total for all drivers information only shown on a single display.

at next it really needs a easier way to show the total kilometers because technical services, like TÜV in germany, and car repair shops have to find it quick and easy to report it. a handsome place will be the swip-through main menu or service interval menu.

finally there is a translation mistake in the oil level display. the current oil level in the german version shows the short form "cur" for "current". maybe it will be useful to call it "Stand" for "level".
1. Not possible to remove (hide) time display. It's used to set current clock. Is a internal cluster function and I'm dont know how to set clock without them. Cluster clock is a global clock and used by other devices.
2. Possible add current total km to any display menu. But what for ? Not possible remove clock (see #1) and if not possible remove clock is also not good to remove original total km display (looks not good if remove (hide) only one original display).
3. This text is not translated. On any language is Cur and Min.
What do think also about use of Motor-Can ID 420 byte 6 ... on t5 it is definitely the brightness of instrument cluster between 0 an 100% (hex 64) to automatic control the brightness of colormfa if lights are on ?
Ok. Is not problem. :)
Аватара пользователя
rcmaehl
Сообщения: 6
Регистрация:
16 окт 2018, 20:48

 

Сообщение  22 окт 2018, 23:14

New ColorMFA owner here. Absolutely fantastic product. I'd like to provide some feedback and ideas:

Bug Reports:
*snip* Moved to Неисправности, брак, возможные причины/ Issues and solutions

Feature Requests:
  • An indicator for vehicle pitch (estimated by vehicle load?) and, if possible, roll. For those of us that use their 4Motion/Quattro in places they really shouldn't
  • An option to reset Trip 1 and/or Trip 2, if the car is in accessory and fuel tank is filled
Nitpicks:
*snip* Moved to Неисправности, брак, возможные причины/ Issues and solutions

Other than those above, everything else with the product has been fantastic. Would not give it up for anything. Thank you for everything you do!!!! :Yahoo!: :Yahoo!: :D :beer:
Аватара пользователя
autopilot
Сообщения: 558
Регистрация:
28 дек 2017, 19:07
Откуда: Москва
Контакты:

 

Сообщение  23 окт 2018, 22:52

An indicator for vehicle pitch (estimated by vehicle load?) and, if possible, roll. For those of us that use their 4Motion/Quattro in places they really shouldn't
Not possible. Where I get vihicle pitch ? What control unit in car measured this ?
An option to reset Trip 1 and/or Trip 2, if the car is in accessory and fuel tank is filled
Sorry, but not added.
Аватара пользователя
rcmaehl
Сообщения: 6
Регистрация:
16 окт 2018, 20:48

 

Сообщение  24 окт 2018, 06:16

autopilot писал(а):
23 окт 2018, 22:52
An indicator for vehicle pitch (estimated by vehicle load?) and, if possible, roll. For those of us that use their 4Motion/Quattro in places they really shouldn't
Not possible. Where I get vihicle pitch ? What control unit in car measured this ?
I'm unsure if it is reported, potentially auto leveling headlights. 55 - Xenon Range. I am still researching.
autopilot писал(а):
23 окт 2018, 22:52
An option to reset Trip 1 and/or Trip 2, if the car is in accessory and fuel tank is filled
Sorry, but not added.
Understandable. Thanks for the consideration
Ответить